Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Starting out

Post Thanks / Like

Default Starting out

Hi All,

I am relatively new to crappie fishing. I am a bass and cat man, but i really want to learn slab seeking. first, I would like rod, reel, line, tackle, lure reccomendations. Probably will not be using a spider set up, but i will consider buying some clamps to hold rods. How many rods should i use? Etc..

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Phishermanjohn
    Hi All,

I would like rod, reel, line, tackle, lure reccomendations. Probably will not be using a spider set up, but i will consider buying some clamps to hold rods. How many rods should i use? Etc..
    Welcome to the boards. If you would, check out this thread about putting your location on your profile.
    http://www.crappie.com/gr8vb3/showthread.php?t=32835
    There are people from all over and if we know where your from, some of the local guys/gals will chime in and help you out on lakes in your area and how to fish them. As for line, rod, reel, and lures. The choices are unlimited.
    In My oppinion, the graphite rods are the lightest and most sensitive, sometimes the longer the better. Reels, your preference. Line, most use a 4 or 6 pound test. It lets the jig move more freely. Lures/bait: unlimited choices, depends on where you are fishing, water clarity, and such. Some use hair jigs, feather jigs, maribou jigs, solid body plastics, and hollow tube jigs, some use the bait pump to inject their hollow tubes with crappie nibbles, http://thebaitpump.com
    Some use regular flathead minnows, rosey red minnows, and some shinners.

And how many poles? that kinda depends on what style you are fishing. Don't knock the spider rigging thing yet, this may be the best way to fish the lakes near you.

Here are a couple of links that may contain some information that will help you
    http://www.gameandfishmag.com/fishin...05/index1.html.