Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling in prop wash

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling in prop wash

Hey J White, I was looking over my special panfish issue of Crappie and noticed in the Spence Petros article, while it mainly had to do with white bass, he said he has had some good luck with lures as close as 5 feet to 30 feet in the prop wash in warm weather. Have you tried that?
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Southern Sickle Jigs Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like

I'm just a beginner at all this pan fish stuff but after many years of saltwater trolling, I'll say trolling in the propwash will always increase your take....the closer to the boat the better. I've even seen pics of lures in the wash from the fish's viewpoint and a lure will appear much more like real forage because of the distortion caused by the wash...it's worth a try.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Back in the days when I got to sit in the back of the boat once in a while I would often rig up 2 short poles using 1/16 oz white jig head with a minnow on it. I would only let them, out 6-8 foot. Big motor not running, just trolling motor on the front of the boat. I've caught a lot of crappie doing that. I guess they just get curious some days.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

Default HI SteveJ

Sorry took awhile answering, not like me, but I've been over stirring up
    trouble on the Turbo Diesel Register site, think they are about ready to
    tar and feather me! NEVER question a product in the midst of a bunch of
    brand-loyalist! I have tried trolling crankbaits with a short line, big weight
    in line ahead of it, probably as close as 20' behind/beside the boat -
    I did catch some, but some days seem to catch more on planer boards off