Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A question on filleting crapie

Post Thanks / Like

Default A question on filleting crapie

Hello everyone my name is Matt. I'm just getting into crappie fishing. Been a catfisherman for a long time. I can fillet a catfish in no time flat but yesterday I caught 6. 12 inch crappie got them home and tried to fillet them. At that point I realized I had no idea how to fillet a crappie (thought it would be more like a catfish). I may have done it right but the fillets seemed so small so I was wondering is there a better way to fillet them. any advise will be greatly appreciated

Thank You
    Matt Searls

Post Thanks / Like

slice down behind the fins, to backbone, turn knife towards tail. Stop at the base of tail and flip that fillet over and skin it out. Its about that easy thenyou just cut the ribs out and your done

Post Thanks / Like

Use a sharp, sharp fillet knife and as FireFighter112 says cut behind the gills and ride the backbone all the way to the tail fin and flip back and ride the knife against the skin to get it off. Very tasty fried fish.
    Fresh Air, Keep your nose clean.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Redneck, Get you an electric fillet knife and keep the backbone towards you so you don't waste any meat. Cut down to the spine behind the head but be careful not to sever the spine and then turn the knife towards the tail. Angle the knife up just enought to feel the teeth barely tic the spine as you fillet towards the tail.
    Cut thru the ribs where they connect to the spine and then continue down to the tail but "do not" cut the fillet free from the tail. Then get the knife started where the tail is connected and separate the fillet from the skin.
    All that's left to do then is take a sharp knife and cut out the rib section from the fillet.