Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Weather for Tournaments. Tourney teams vs the everyday fisherman

in a VAN down by the RIVER, Georgia/Alabama line
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Weather for Tournaments. Tourney teams vs the everyday fisherman

Weather is one of the variables that make tournaments a challenge. Any of us can hit the lake when the weather is right and catch us a mess of fish. Those that fish regular on the tourney circuit have to produce in any weather. Add that to the fact that they only fish some lakes for the tourney the first time or once a year. Plus like Jamie Moore pointed out in the GON article, Tourney teams are looking for the 7 biggest fish in the lake. Any crappie won't keep them happy.
    I have a great degree of respect for these teams that can find and catch big crappie in any weather on any lake. They might not win each week but they can be sure they will be on the leader board. Teams with more time on the water do have an advantage. We would all like to have the tourney on our favorite lake. I wish Crappiemasters or Cusa could come to Harding:D GaSlabmasters...hint hint
    The weather is going to be a big factor in the Valentine day tourney on Oconee. Not just the weather Saturday but this warm up with 3 back to back to back fronts moving thru the area. the winds will be from 3 different directions all week and blowing strong. That will be moving that water on top to different parts of the lake..
    I expect to catch 7 good crappie saturday, whatever the weather might be but the team with the best idea of what the crappie have done on this lake in these past conditions will be the top teams. I have only fished 3 major tourneys and never made it in the top 20:rolleyes: But I have learned at each one. Not just tourney fishing but things that help me when guiding on my home lake or just fishing different lakes with all the great friends I have met here on Ga Crappie.com and Slabfest.