Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A good place to get my kids catchin' slabs

jackster Guest

Default A good place to get my kids catchin' slabs

I am new to the KCMO area. Moved here last fall from SE TExas (Beaumont). I live in Oak Grove now. I have a boat w/ a 25 hp motor. I am looking for a good place in the KCMO area to take my 7 yr old son crappie fishing this spring and summer. Any hints on where to start? When is the crappie spawn here? Starts in late February / early March back home. BTW, what about the white bass spawn?

Speck is online now MO/MS Moderator and Fishing Legend * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the Missouri board. Crappie here usually spawn early to mid April. I can't help you much with K.C. area fishing but there are several on here who can.

Crazy Angler Pro Staff
    Crappie Logic Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like

welcome to Missouri,,there are several members who live in the KC area,,iam sure they will chime in with some help,,also you can log on to the Missouri Dept. of Conversation web site and they have some lake maps posted with brush placement locations in that area,,good luck
    IT'S 5--O-CLOCK SOMEWHERE,,,MIKE-p

PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome the board, Jackster, and to KC. I live up in Kearney so hit Smithville most often. It isn't bad but the spawn was off a bit last year.

Closer to home would be Blue Springs Lake and Jacomo. I haven't fished Jacomo in a few years. Been wanting to get back out there but I do better at Smithville and it's closer, so...I don't know...maybe it's bounced back in the past couple years. Don't hear much about it on this board, anyway.