Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Pouring jigs

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pouring jigs

I'm brand new to this and was wondering what are some things I need to do to have my jigs all come out good. I seem to be running into some issues with my heating pot not allowing the lead to pour out fast enough to make each jig turn out right. I'm having some slag issues, and was wondering if there is a way to minimize that. I'm pouring 1/32 oz and 1/16 oz jigs, if that's any help. I read the book that came with the melting pot, and it said you should drop piece of pea sized parifin into the pot while it was heating. Do any of you try this? I'm certainly not going to go into a business doing this, it's just a hobby thing to keep me busy during the winter. I hate really cold weather, so ice fishing is pretty much out, so I thought I'd try this. Any ideas, or help would really be appreciated. Thanks in advance.:D

fishhunter775 is offline Crappie Wall Hanger * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

FishingDog if your having problems with the lead flow you may need some softer lead as it will pour smoother for you.Pre heat your mold will also help to fill them smoother.As for slag or flash check your mold for anything that may have gotten in it,even the smallest of particals like lead will not let it close completly.Also the hooks your using make sure they are letting the mold close tight.As for the parifin it is to help with slag build up on the lead pot.Hope this will help ya a little.

Post Thanks / Like