Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rig's

Post Thanks / Like

Default Rig's

I've been watching some clips on the net about Crappie fishing and noticed the poles used were about 10' long. Is it really needed that long or is that more for vertical jigging? I planned on using a 6 or 6 1/2 foot rod light or ultra light. Am I off base here or would I have more luck with a different pole?

Thanks in advance
    Jon
    Jon Sarabia

My Rottweiler is smarter than your honor student!

Post Thanks / Like

How do you plan on fishing?
    Hump

Post Thanks / Like

Jon, I have limited knowledge and experience, but I do know that with a longer rod for jigging, you don't have to "park" over the cover that the fish are holding in, thus reducing the chance of spooking them.

Jerry and/or Darryl should chime in here soon with a better justification.

Jeff
    Skeeter Jeff
    Indianapolis, IN

Post Thanks / Like

Your rod would be good for casting jigs and fishing under a float

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by hump
    How do you plan on fishing?
    From a boat or on a dock or from the bank.
    Jon Sarabia

Post Thanks / Like