Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie needing advice

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbie needing advice

Hello,

Newbie here and I had a question concerning a man-made 10ac lake here in Missouri I started fishing. I was told there were nice crappie by several people but I am unable to locate them so far, hoping to get some advice.

I took out a kayak today and a portable Eagle cuda 168 depthfinder. Most of the lake is 8-10' deep with no noticable features along the bottom, seems to be a smooth featureless bottom with no channels or timber/stumps. It is completely ringed in lily pads from the bank to at least 12' out. There are small patches of lily pads scattered throughout the lake and I have taken fish off of them. I have pulled several nice bluegill and shellcracker out in the 9-10" range and several 2.5/3lb bass but no crappie yet. Water temp is 67-68 and stained. I am using live minnows on slip bobber and jig (red)/grub (white) combo and small Bomber crank that work great on the bluegills/bass but again no crappie.

Unfortunately I had to leave before covering the entire lake. Heading back I did make a pass around the dam. I saw 16' and what looked like tall weeds coming up to 10-8' and fish. Unfortunately I was pressed for time and had never used this depthfinder before so I am going back tomorrow and check it out further. I know this is probably vague information.

On a side note I love the site. I have been "lurking" for a week or so and finally joined. Seems to be great input and I look forward to visting often. Thanks again for any advice.

Robert Jackson

UPDATE