Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Trolling for Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling for Crappie

I am new to crappie fishing, and I am not too sure on how to troll. I experimented this past weekend and caught some small fish, but I dont know what type of jigs to use as well as how to keep the jig at a certain depth. Anyone have any suggestions??

Post Thanks / Like

Jig style and color is a science in itself. Experiment with different colors for different types of water clarity. Depth is usually controlled by lure weight and speed of the boat. There are many different types of ways to troll for crappie. Be more specific and someone will help out a little more.

Quote Originally Posted by gacowboy
    I am new to crappie fishing, and I am not too sure on how to troll. I experimented this past weekend and caught some small fish, but I dont know what type of jigs to use as well as how to keep the jig at a certain depth. Anyone have any suggestions??

Post Thanks / Like

Well, I am new to trying to troll, and am not too sure on what is the best way to do it. Before I primarily just fished with minnows, but am interested in trolling. This past weekend I tried fishing with 4 rods in the front of the boat in rod holders and 4 rods in the back, all had 1/16 oz. hal flies on them, but I did not get a single bite. I tried several different colors, and nothing, I just think the problem is that I am not keeping the jigs at the right depth.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by gacowboy