Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Paint lead heads or not? (Fish See Colors?)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Paint lead heads or not? (Fish See Colors?)

I have read some place about guys that were fishing with worms or something and the fish kept hitting their sinkers instead of the worm. It happened over and over and they tried some silver baits and the fish still preferred the lead sinkers.

This was in an article that was talking about fish seeing colors and as a matter of fact that some fish may see a larger spectrum of colors than humans do. So were or do the fish see color we can't when they see oxidized lead?

I know I have used a lot of unpainted jig heads, but I started painting all of my jig heads with something even if it's just clear to keep the lead from getting darker and darker dull gray. I am wondering now if that is a mistake, can they see more than we can and is for some reason we don't know the are attracted to oxidized dull gray lead heads?

Cont'd

Peak Vise Dealer
    Tying Materials, Chenille and Hackle
    For Pictures of my Crystal, Nylon/Rayon or
    New Age Chenille Please PM Me! Also I
    have the Saltwater Neck Hackle and some
    colors of Marabou plus other things!

Post Thanks / Like

For some reason if I talk too much it will not post so I divided this...

Cont'd...

This had to do with something about cones in their eyes to be able to see color and how many they have Vs how many humans have. They also said catfish have none, but their sight is really good. However where we 3 different of these cones that allows us to distinguish like 300,000 shades of colors and some fish have 4 or even 5 of these cones and that would mean they can see colors we can't imagine.

Just a subject I am interested in and want to see what you all know or think about this stuff.

I am not suggesting we should only use unpainted heads, but maybe we should have some as part of our selections.