HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crappie fishing ethics

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie fishing ethics

Since I am new to crappie fishing I just wanted to know if there are any unwritten rules people abide by. Obviously I wouldn't keep any fish I'm not going to eat. There are no size limits in Georgia, but I am going to limit myself to probably 11" and up just because of how little meat there is on a fish smaller than that (at least with my limited filleting skills). I think my main concern right now is the spawn. seems like every fish I've cleaned recently had eggs. Is there a way to tell a female with eggs without sticking a knife in her belly? Is there anything wrong with harvesting females this time of year?

Thanks for the info... this is such a great forum.
    Thanks pescador thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

You can't hurt Crappie with a rod and reel.
    Any lake that doesn't get fished pretty hard ends up with small fish taking over as they out breed their food supply.
    Lake Fork and Lake of the Pines here in Texas are good examples of what it takes to grow big fish.
    All winter long it is against to law to throw back a crappie no matter the size and they will hand you a $200.00 ticket if they see you do it.
    Both lakes get tons of pressure.
    They are arguably two of the best lake in the state for big fish.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Likes huntinslabs, S10CHEVY LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Gsmith999 View Post
    Since I am new to crappie fishing I just wanted to know if there are any unwritten rules people abide by.
    If someone steals your spot, make sure you weight the body down very well.

"G" is offline Super Duper Moderator - 2012 Crappie.Com Man of the year & 2018 Crappie.com Decade of Exceptional Service Awards * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like