HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spider Rig pole length??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spider Rig pole length??

I fish mostly less that 12 foot of water and currently running 11 and 12 foot rods. About to sell em and get longer ones. Can’t decide between 14s and 16s? What are some of the pros and cons to each? Also, trying to decide between ACC crappie Stix or some Southern crappie Rods.

Post Thanks / Like

16's get the bait farther away from the boat in shallow water, That helps!

Post Thanks / Like

Yea that’s what made me decide to switch. I’m still very new to spider rigging and honestly didn’t know any better when buying my other rods. I realized real quick when I was on the water a few weeks ago when the boats with 16’ rods were doing much better than other boats. It was windy so had to be on the motor more so I’m sure that didnt help

Post Thanks / Like

I have 8 14 ft, 4 12ft and 2 10ft Southern Crappie. Adding 2 16ft next week to put on front . thought about getting 4, well see how it goes. I run shallow water too, usually 1p ft of lessa, a lot of times bait just running 2-4 ft. I switched all front rods over to baitcasters, much much easier, lift and thumb em down
    Likes SlabSeeker0485 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I love my 16 footers from Southern Crappie to spider rig.
    LittleJohn

Post Thanks / Like

I was in the exact same predicament. I didn’t know any better when I started and started with 10’ and 12’ rods. I quickly figured out that I needed longer rods. I went to 16’s and never looked back, and it definitely has made a lot of difference IMO. I pretty much exclusively fish in <10 FOW spider rigging and while at times 16’ rods can be a pain when you’re only fishing 3-4 ft deep, it will definitely increase your bites getting the baits away from boat noise. Just my .02

Sent from my iPhone using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    Thanks SlabSeeker0485 thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like