Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: what do I do once I catch it?

Post Thanks / Like

Default what do I do once I catch it?

Hello Im new here and I found you guys while searching for some answers. My name is joel by the way and I live in illinois about an hour or so south of chicago. Anyway Im looking for an answer to what you guys will probablly think is a dumb question, but here goes. Once I catch a fish (crappie) that im planning on keeping to eat, should I keep it on a stringer, or kill it right away and put it on ice? is one better than the other? and If im going to ice them for a ride home should I gut them before the ride, and if not is it ok to just go ahead and fillet them without gutting. Also didint know if you guys had any advice on good filleting diagrams or suggestions im not very good at it. thanks for the help.-joel

Post Thanks / Like

I Have Always Kept Them On The Stringer Till I Leave The Lake. Then Put Them On Ice Till You Get Home. Filet Them As Soon As You Get Home. It Is Very Easy But I Dont Know How To Explaine It. If You Search The Net On Cleaning Fish It Will Show You How. Good Luck & Keep Catching The Fish

Post Thanks / Like

Default What I Do...

WELCOME ABOARD from baytown texas. You'll find most of the info you'll ever need here.