Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Hitting Smithville lake this week, bait opinions!?!

Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb Hitting Smithville lake this week, bait opinions!?!

Hey guys, I've been hearing a lot of folks catching crappie with jigs recently at Smithville. I'm very new to it and bought many varieties. I'm going to also bring Minnows. I have 9 types of jigs/lures in the pic. From leftto right counting from 1-9, which ones do you guys recommend? Should I attach two onto a line under a bobber? Fishing from the bank by the way. I have some rooster tails, should I give them a shot? Also do rooster tails work under a bobber? Any opinions/advice would really help, thanks!

!
    Name:  image.jpg
Views: 527
Size:  18.2 KB
    Likes DesertBerry LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I would use #3 and #5. Cast at a 45 deg. Angle from the bank with a very slow retrieve.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks! With a bobber or no bobber?

Post Thanks / Like

I've never caught a crappie on a rooster tail. But then again, I haven't tried. I'm sure it can be done? But I would reach for #3-5 first, #2 then #1 only after having put the others into a tree.

You could probably put any of the first 5 under a bobber (I would never put a rooster tail under a bobber). Bear in mind you'll lose any action from the twist-tails (and the spinner on the roadrunner) if you're not swimming it. But...the times I fish a jig under a bobber, it's usually because the fish want it still or moving SO slow that you're bumping the bottom. Putting a jig under a bobber just allows me to slowly draw that through cover and pick up suspended fish. So if I were doing that, I'd use #2 or 3 first.

At Smithville, you're going to have better luck with a minnow anyway.

Likes MustangJimmy816 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Joedog View Post