Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me understand something about fly fishing.....

Post Thanks / Like

Default Help me understand something about fly fishing.....

OK, I was at a distributor's the other day picking up supplies for my store. I was looking over their jigs and he was showing me the 1/80oz and said they were used by fly fishermen.

Now, I'm new to fly fishing....have yet to catch a fish on a fly rod. I have been under the impression that the only way to add weight to flies is either with lead wire, beads, or combination of each. These were just regular 90degree bend 1/80oz jigs.

Is this possible and what weights of jigs can be used with a 5-6 weight rod and line?

Stupid question I realize but can't learn if I don't ask!

Thanks!
    Craig

Post Thanks / Like

Never tried the small jigs but Stumphunter(SC Member) ties some micro jigs for fly fishing and I have a few to try. No reason they would not work as light as they are. Just remember that the line is what casts the lure in fly fishing and too much weight on the fly will cause problems getting the line too lay out and cast well. How much is too much?? Just have to experiment and see what works. The size of the leader and tippet will affect this also.
    Mark 1:17 ...I will make you fishers of men

Post Thanks / Like

So if using a small jig should you also use a sinking line? And what depths can be reached? I'd like to try fly fishing in the lake for crappie but in the summer when I can fish you need to reach depths of 10-30 feet deep. Obtainable via fly fishing?
    Craig Blankenship
    www.craigsoutdoorsports.com

Post Thanks / Like