Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: fishing around large dock pilings

Post Thanks / Like

Default fishing around large dock pilings

I am a novice to crappie fishing but have found them a blast to chase. Looking for some advice to catch them around raised docks that have large pilings. Probably about 3 to 8' of water and water is stained. I caught a couple accidently fishing for whatever was around the pilings. I believe it was end of may. Minnows, jigs, water temp? Will they spawn around them?

Post Thanks / Like

Crappie hold on some docks all year round. Lots of good information about it on you tube under dock shooting. Careful dock shooting is addictive.
    The love for fishing is one of the best gifts you can pass along

Post Thanks / Like

docks are three to five feet above water. Should be pretty easy to cast right under. Last spring I found them directly out from dock in 30' of water and figured they wouldn't be under them because of the water temp. I never made it back in early summer to see but I will this year.

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Yep .... Crappie like shade and will hold under docks at times. They may even spawn around them, especially if there are weeds or wood cover under the docks. The vertical poles of stationary docks will also collect algae, as they age, and Shad & other minnow species do occasionally feed on that algae. That gives the Crappie another reason to be there.