Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: rocky fork

Post Thanks / Like

Default rocky fork

First of all hello everyone I'm new here. I just started crappie fishing last year and it was just off of the bank. I had a blast and am hooked now. I have got the itch bad to get out on the water. I was wondering when the bite starts to turn on at rocky fork. I know most of you are probably fishing now but I don't think I know enough about crappie fishing to be successful. I have a four year old that loves to go with me so I don't want to burn him out if you know what I mean. I only used minnows last year so I have no experience with jigging and plastics for crappie. I have bass fished all my life but am new to the crappie game. I would appreciate any info I can get about rocky fork or paint creek.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Best thing you can do is learn about Crappie...good info on colors, etc, on the CJ thread...there is info on this website about water temps, etc, that Affect Crappie....this will tell you when they start gorging for the spawn, what temps are needed for the spawn, which is when they will be close to the shoreline and feeding heavy.
    Crappie also see well at night, in the summer they feed at MAINLY at dusk through early morning...water temps, oxygen content and cover are controlling factors.
    I fish for them just like Bass...I just downsize my lures...I use 2.8 to 4 inch swimbaits....you can bounce small craws off the bottom, small spinner baits, small cranks, smaller plastics....or live bait under a bobber, or a jig/etc under a bobber.
    During the daytime in the Summer, they look for shad and cooler water...such as docks, laydown trees in the water, etc.
    Learn about them first and then we can answer more of your questions.
    Keitech USA Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like