Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Locating the spots on new lakes.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Locating the spots on new lakes.

Im a rookie at crappie fishing. I've never had the time before this year to actually chase em as I was busy with racing from spring till fall and when I had time to case fish I was after smallies. Well race car is sold and new boat was bought back last winter and I've spent this year learning how to use it with multiple species. I've had about every species in the boat and learned a ton. My question though is I made my first trip to two big crappie lakes this year and obviously didnt have any "spots" to go to. I did my reasearch and knew areas but with limited time its hard to really map out specific spots to pull crappie from. What do you guys prefer for finding crappie on new water? Would you rather ride around with electronics before dropping a line. Or do you prefer to troll jigs while watching electronics and use both to locate schools or maybe a brushpile somewhere to then stop and fish. I'm looking at new things to rig my boat out with this winter and I am looking at rod holders for trolling jigs and cranks. And I'm just wondering if its a good path to go down for crappie or if I should look for another soluton and just realize its gonna take alot more riding around with just the electronics to be successful.
    Likes Rustyhooker LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Three can keep a secret................If two of them are dead! (Benjamin Franklin)

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by midcarolina View Post
    LOL I may have messed up and asked to general of a question. Just trying to get my mind right for learning to locate these critters.

Redge is offline Crappie.com Legend - 2017 Man Of The Year
    Post Thanks / Like

Depending on your electroncs, I drive til I see fish worth fishin! Then go see if they are hungry.
    Proud Member of Team Geezer!

Post Thanks / Like