Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Minnow and fish storage

Post Thanks / Like

Default Minnow and fish storage

Hey guys I'm new to kayak fishing (only been doing it for about a month) I'm wondering what you keep your minnows and fish in? I'm thinking I'll just get one of the minnow buckets you tie off and put in the water, and a fish basket.. Any other suggestions? What do you use?
    God, Family, Fishing
    twitter: @jbonesky

STUMP HUNTER is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

What ever you buy be sure it is something that you can put inside the boat when paddling because anything over the side will add a lot of drag. I found a minnow bucket that will fit into my hatch in front of my seat and my stringer I can put inside the boat when I'm ready to end the day. I'm making a livewell out of a dog food storage box. I have seen some nice ones that some have been built, check out some videos on youtube.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER ---------
    Ascend 133X 13' - MotorGuide Xi3 & Mercury 4

Post Thanks / Like

I haven't used minnows from my kayak yet but if I do I will use a flow troll that I can drag while fishing then put in the boat while moving from one spot to another. For fish, I use a cooler the has an over flow installed. I fill the cooler up and let the water drop to the over flow and when I need to change the water I fill the cooler back up. Right now with the hot weather I forget about changing the water, I throw a big block of ice in the cooler.
    Give a man a fish, feed him for a day.
    Teach a man to fish, he'll sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Post Thanks / Like

soft sided cooler with block ice for the keeper fish. Bucket of minnows with a good lid works fine for me.

Post Thanks / Like