Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Yaks and camera's

Post Thanks / Like

Default Yaks and camera's

Like a lot of others on here I have watched video's of people in their yaks with camera's to film the trip. Some having audio also. My question is what are the brands of camera's and where are they buying them. The one thing I would want to add is to be able to move the camera around with a joy stick while looking at a screen to see what I am shooting.
    FISH ON

Post Thanks / Like

Most of that you are seeing anymore is done by Go Pro Camera's they have an app to see what you are recording on your phone as it is happening and there is remotes etc.

Post Thanks / Like

I have been filming my kayak fishing for quite a few years now and have always used a Nikon Cool Pix. They are reasonably inexpensive, depending on what model of Cool Pix, and they produce great quality footage. I have also been using a Sony that has a housing for underwater. I typically run two or three cameras at once in my kayak and really don't worry about being able to see what I am filming at the time. I just try to keep the cameras rolling as much as possible and then eliminate the unusable footage during editing. It is hard enough to film and fish let alone actually try to watch the footage at the same time when I am alone, which is the majority of the time. If you haven't seen any of my videos here is one in which I am using two Nikon Cool Pix and the Sony.
    It is not about the equipment you have to use,
    It is about how you use the equipment you have. :D

Post Thanks / Like

slabsrus, show us the mount you use to attach the camera to the limb/stickup. I too use the Nikon Cool Pix camera, but don't have the mount.
    "Proud Member of Team Geezer"

Post Thanks / Like

Would love to see the mount. I would like to find one that can be articulated with a joystick and have a small screen that could be mounted beside a FF. Am I asking for to much?
    FISH ON