Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Lower Units on Outboards

Post Thanks / Like

Question Lower Units on Outboards

I was at a tournament the other day and I heard some people talking about having trouble with their lower units. The talk was that the manufactures have determined that motor toters might be the problem. Some way it was causing a strain on the lower unit thus making things not align correctly and causing failure. Even some boat dealers have recommended not using them.

Has anyone else heard anything like this??

Post Thanks / Like

Speedy;; I know that not using one, own a heavy engine will put a strain on your transit, thats a lot of weight bouncing around. I've been using one on my boat for years and have'nt had any problems.

Post Thanks / Like

I've been using one on my 78 bass boat for 10 years and i do believe the guy that had it before me had been using one on it for several years. its only a 85 hp evenrude and there has not been any lower unit problems that I know of.It sure takes the strain off the transom. sounds like to me some one didn't have the engine all the way down and strapped wright or on some extremly rough roads.
    MT.DEW AND JP8 IN THE MORNING GETS THE BLOOD FLOWING.

Post Thanks / Like

I have always used one, so when I heard this I thought it might be worth checking into. That is a lot of strain on the transom without it. Okay I'll just keep my ears open..

Post Thanks / Like

First I heard of it. I doubt that they can cause lower unit problems. Regardless I would rather fix the lower unit than have to replace the transom in my boat.

fiddlefarter is offline Moderator Crappie Cover Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Mt. Juliet, TN...Percy Priest Lake/Old Hickory Lake
    Post Thanks / Like