Size:  81.4 KBName:  photo (7).jpg
Views: 26504
Size:  69.7 KBName:  photo (8).jpg
Views: 37363
Size:  54.9 KBName:  photo (9).jpg
Views: 33360
Size:  73.2 KBName:  photo.jpg
Views: 26406
Size:  55.5 KBMany of us that fish, especially for Crappie, have been having trouble finding a convenient source for live bait (minnows) due in part to the large number of bait shops that have closed. I have been using a homemade minnow tank for 2 years now and never have to worry about finding minnows for a quick trip to the lake. It is simple, affordable and easy to make.

Here is what you will need:

1. 50 gal. blue plastic barrel ($10 or maybe free)
    2. 110 volt aerator with a large air stone ($19.00 BPS)
    3. Small aquarium filter ( I use the Whisper 10i $15)
    4. Plastic valve for draining your tank. ( About $4 at Lowes)
    5. 4 wheel cart for moving it around when full of water (optional About $10 at Harbor Freight)

I had most of this stuff, except the filter, lying around the basement. You can use a garbage can in place of the barrel if you want but the barrel is strong and wont collapse if you do it right.

First cut the barrel just above the top stiffening ring. Make sure that you leave the stiffening ring intact. You can use a skill saw to do this job. After you cut the top off, use a knife to remove all of the burrs left by the saw. You don’t want this stuff falling into the water. Now that you have total access to the inside of the barrel thoroughly clean it with soap and water. (This is a must) The tank will hold about 30 gal of water when filled about 4”-6” from the top.

Attach a landing made of a suitable material to the side of the tank for the aerator. I used a 90 degree piece of aluminum that I had lying around.

The filter is a no brainer. Just hang it on the side. Make sure that you have enough water to cover the bottom of the filter.

Here are a few things you need to know before you put minnows in your new homemade minnow tank.