Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to Try and Avoid Winter Depression and Crappie Fishing Withdrawal Symptoms

Post Thanks / Like

Default How to Try and Avoid Winter Depression and Crappie Fishing Withdrawal Symptoms

Where I live in Northern Central Missouri it gets cold and sometimes Winter jumps up on me sooner than I like it too. However, I am a seasonal-based person and I do prefer the Midwest and its seasonal approach to passing life's time span. Now, I am a Licensed Therapist by trade and do work part-time in the Spring, Summer, and Fall seasons as a fishing guide at Truman Lake. So, I do approach most aspects of my life from a psychological perspective, especially crappie fishing. I've tried living in California where there is not a significant amount of seasonal change. I couldn't take it. I moved back to Missouri due to a lack of seasonal change and a lack of space in California. I know that many anglers have a great deal of success crappie fishing through the Winter months as I have had myself. As far as I'm concerned it's just to cold I mean its for me its just not enjoyable even when I think it is. Over the years I have became pretty creative in finding ways to overcome Crappie fishing withdrawal symptoms and seasonal depression, which I believe can be related to:

A lack of crappie fishing
    Knowing that it is going to be awhile before I go crappie fishing
    Long-periods of being stuck in the house
    Holidays that I cant afford if I am going to further invest in my crappie fishing
    My wife constantly on my case because I'm probably depressed because I can't go crappie fishing
    Spending extra time with my mother-in-law because I'm stuck in the house
    Snow piling up on my driveway
    The economy

I'm sure you can agree the list goes on-and-on and-on.......