Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: crappie nooby please help !

Post Thanks / Like

Default crappie nooby please help !

Hey guys and gals, Im pretty new to crappie fishing and im kinda learning as i go on. My question was; what is the proper way to rig up a bobber minnow rig ? Ive been doing my hook then about 14 inches up my bobber, and then a split shot right in the middle. I notice that the minnow will swim to the top of the water and just kinda dance around. I fig im doing it wrong so can i get any help ? haha thanks !

Post Thanks / Like

Put some small split shot about 1" from the hook - only a couple of small ones. Then a med. sized one about 7" higher up.

Post Thanks / Like

I like to only use one split shot generally around 2 to 3 inches from the hook if your split shot is middle way up the minnow can freely swim to the top wrapping around your float and causing lots of problems. I think 2 to 3 inches from the hook is good because it keeps the minnow from tangling the line to bad. Hope this helps!

Post Thanks / Like

Are you using a fixed bobber and only setting the depth at one foot? Your question sounds like that and I want to make sure you're getting the right answers. Sorry if I misunderstood.

Helicopter Pilot
    Vietnam 67/68
    Proud Member of the Southeast Asian War Games Team

Post Thanks / Like

yes its a fixed bobber and its at 1 foot. Im not too sure on how deep i should be putting the minnow compared to how deep the water is. and thanks for all the other answers !

Post Thanks / Like

i don,t think the is a wright or wrong way. but i would move my s. shot down some

Post Thanks / Like

I would suggest you go to a slip bobber so you can adjust your depth as needed. Plus the bobber slides down to your weight and minnow and is a lot easier to cast than when you have a foot or two of line hanging off your rod tip each cast.
    SeaRay
    Mark 1:17 ...I will make you fishers of men