Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Favorite type of rod for trolling (cheap ol telescopic fiberglass / 2 piece graphite)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Favorite type of rod for trolling (cheap ol telescopic fiberglass / 2 piece graphite)

I am just getting into trolling with multiple rods and was wondering what your preferences on 10' and 12' rods are. I have been looking at a 2 piece graphite rod and a fairly decent looking telescopic with reel seat for half the money of the graphite. Which do you prefer, the graphite for sensitivity, longevity etc? or the telescopic for price and easy storage and transport etc.?

Post Thanks / Like

I longline and use 10'and less in graphite and 13' and 16' telescoping. I don't notice a difference in hooking ratio. But if i could store the longer poles in graphite I would probably have the longer poles in graphite as well. Mine are the uncle bucks crappie delude with real seats and guides.

monkscrappie is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

You need to come to Liberty, NC and look at the HT Panfish in 8, 10, and 12 ft lengths. We have been offering a show special- 12 ft pole and open face reel for $20.00.

Monk
    Monk's Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by monkscrappie View Post
    You need to come to Liberty, NC and look at the HT Panfish in 8, 10, and 12 ft lengths. We have been offering a show special- 12 ft pole and open face reel for $20.00.

Monk
    Monk's Crappie
    Funny you mention that because its one that I was looking at on your website. I didn't see anything there about a show special though. Do you have to come there to get it or is available to the public via the website? The panfish does look like a good offering, what reel is attached because I was actually looking at the shimano ix1000 reels but not sure yet on which to go with.

Post Thanks / Like