Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crankbaits

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crankbaits

Im new to this so: When is the best time/water temp to use crankbaits? What brand/size works best? Is trolling more effective than casting? Anything else to consider when stocking up for the first time?
    Thanks ahead of time!
    A person should learn something new every day!

Post Thanks / Like

i like using crankbaits as a "fish locator". i like casting a crank into areas where i think crappie maybe holding. if i catch a few in a spot i will generally downsize to a standard jig setup and fish the area thoroughly.

i've trolled with crankbaits, especially in water in excess of 10 ft. obviously with more baits in the water your chances of catching more are increased due to the fact that you can cover more water than with one rig. when doing this i like to use a heavier pole since trolling with crankbaits will cause a flimsy rod to bend a great deal.

i've used the following crankbaits Rebel crappie-crankr, Bandit 100/200/300, Strikeking Slab Hammer and Bitsy Minnow. i've used pink, black, chartrueuse, and white colors in any of the above baits.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm interested in this as well. I have some crappie crankbaits but haven't used them. Been catching a plenty on jigs.

Post Thanks / Like

i've trolled with crankbaits, especially in water in excess of 10 ft. obviously with more baits in the water your chances of catching more are increased due to the fact that you can cover more water than with one rig. when doing this i like to use a heavier pole since trolling with crankbaits will cause a flimsy rod to bend a great deal.

i've used the following crankbaits Rebel crappie-crankr, Bandit 100/200/300, Strikeking Slab Hammer and Bitsy Minnow. i've used pink, black, chartrueuse, and white colors in any of the above baits.
    Do you add weight to the line to make them run deeper? What speed do you pull them?