Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I Got a B&M Graphite Jig Pole - Questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default I Got a B&M Graphite Jig Pole - Questions

I'm just getting into crappie fishing by long line trolling and have just been using a medium action Zebco rod and 33 classic off the back of the boat and a couple of light action spinning rod/reels off the side of the boat. I know the medium actions are too stiff, but using what I have. I've been catching some, but my buddy uses crappie poles and using the light tip certainly makes a difference.

My son got me a 12ft B&M Graphite Jig Pole for Christmas that I had been eyeing. It's the first and only long pole that I've ever had and not sure if it's the best for me or not. My plan was to hang a 12ft pole on each side of the boat while trolling. I know B&M makes the "difference" rod to hang off the side the way I intend, but I don't see them anywhere around local. I like the feel of the Jig Pole, seems to have a nice back with a pretty sensitive tip, but I also played around with a Shakesphere Crappie Hunter rod in the store and that seems to have even a faster tip and and little softer back (bends more like a whip, but not that bad). I think I like the feel of the Crappie Hunter better, but not sure if it would be as good for trolling on the side of the boat. Crappie Hunter is cheaper and lighter, but the B&M Jig Pole seems to get the "can't go wrong" reviews from what I've read.

Just not sure if I should keep the more expensive B&M or get the Crappie Hunters from Shakessphere. Any thoughts?

The one other thing I've noticed is both those rods have small eyes. I wanted to put a small spinning reel on them. But, looks like the rod is intended to have a spincast or bait cast (small for holding line more than anything of course). Anyone running small spinning reel on these through the small eyes? Again, I would be casting them out to the side and then trolling beside the boat.