Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: crappie reels

Post Thanks / Like

Default crappie reels

I am looking into my first crappiei rod and reel I have no clue what I have a pinnacle ultra balance with 6 lbs test but I am wanting another some time down the road and don't know where to start should I go with a zebco micro cast or a spinning reel I have looked at a abu garcia cardinal 101 but I am not sure. And I have no clue on what type of rod should like what type of action and what length should I go with. I am sorry for all the question. But I am very new to crappie fishing thanks

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Most folks find a medium to Ultra light action rod, from 4'6" to 7 feet very versatile when learning the ropes. Rods are made up to and over 16' but we're talking about starting out. As far as a reel goes, it doesn't have to be very expensive as it's job is mostly as a line holder. I prefer spinning reels as I don't care for the drag systems on most of the closed face that I've handled. I have a few Diawa Sweepfire reels that cost a whopping $12 in the store and work just fine. A 1500 or 2000 series reel will have a smoother drag and a more open memory loop and be easier to cast. Whatever reel you get, loosen the drag when you're done for the day and the drag washers won't compress. This will keep even the cheaper reels giving drag nice and smooth for years to come. I have some low end Shimano reels that are close to, and some over 10 yrs old that still work good. Welcome from Midle Tennessee.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Post Thanks / Like

How will you be fishing with it, casting- spider rigging- tight lining? What is the max you would like to spend on the rod and reel? Let us know these things and we can give you some good suggestions

Post Thanks / Like