Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rare Sighting

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Rare Sighting

This is OT, but please let it run a little before it is moved to where it belongs. Like many of us here on CDC, the outdoors and most everything that relates to it is what I pay attention to. There is no ball that holds my interest, and it's been this way since I can remember. I make my living behind the wheel, and as you can imagine it gets kinda boring at times. So being as I'm driving thru some beautiful countryside, at all hours of the day and night, I watch whatever kind of wildlife is in the fields and treelines that constantly go by. Over the years I have seen some unusual things. Bighorn Sheep feeding inside the cloverleaf on an interstate in Idaho, Bull elk feeding 50 feet off the side of the road in Utah, bear in Florida and the list goes on. This past Tuesday evening, almost dark, I was on I-265 going around Louisville, KY, when something caught my eye no more than 100 feet from the side of the road. The road was elevated, so I was looking downhill, and there was a deer walking along the edge of the trees. I know, so what. But this one had a real nice rack, with some thickness to the tines around the base. He looked about 3 or 4 from the body and rack size and I would have been proud to have him on the wall. Again , so what. Here's the kicker; This one was every bit of 75% white, a Piebald. WOOOOOHOOOO!!! This is one of the things I have always wanted to see in the wild. All of them that I have ever seen have been stuffed and have all been does. I felt like a 6 year old kid that just bagged the old man sneaking in a new bike on Christmas eve. The whole thing couldn't have taken over 4 seconds, more like 3, and he disappeared behind the passenger window post. I know some of you might have seen one in the past, but my time in