Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question about baitcasting reels

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question about baitcasting reels

Are baitcasters with line counters okay for casting? Or does the line counter ruin the reel as a caster?

I fish for crappie, perch and the occasional bass. Since I've been fishing from the dock, all my rigs so far are spinning rigs, but I'm curious about baitcasters because folks say you can learn to cast well without getting birdnests, etc. (the other thread about baitcasting really piqued my curiosity!) But I'm also getting into trolling, hence curious about line counters.

Any recommendations for moderately priced (under $100 for rod and reel) baitcasting set-ups?

This is turning out to be an expensive hobby:D

RCC is offline Crappie.com Legend and Arkansas Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

I've casted my Okuma's and they do OK. I'm not good with any baitcaster reel. I normally just let it free spool the line out to the distance I want. You can pick up some B&M pro trollers and an Okuma line counter reel and have about 70 bucks in it plus or minus a few dollars depending on the length of the rod.
    RCC's Crappie Eradication Service
    Eliminating your slab problems one fish at a time
    For free estimates give us a call at O U 812.

M R Dux is online now Crappie.com Legend , 2018 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

As compared to a regular baitcaster, the Okuma line counters are terrible for casting. I do cast mine on occasion to get a bandit away from the boat at the start of a trolling run but would never consider using it for casting like my other level-winds like Ambassadors or Shimano.

Post Thanks / Like

Seems like when you cast them it throws off the line counter as far as I have noticed so we don't do it any more. Just let out line, also you need to notice your line counter each time you use it as it seems to mess up on it's own some time.