Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new Do It Mold questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default new Do It Mold questions

I've been buying Do It Molds for a couple of years and have been pleased to be able to use different size hooks. I noticed the new ones at Bass Pro now have the warming chamber on the bottom. Will we still be able to use different hook sizes and for the same weight?

What are the advantages and disadvantages to this warming chamber?

Where can you find molds still made like the old ones?

Someone mentioned Do It Corp doesn't seem to respond to well to suggestions from its customers. Someone else mentioned if the Japanese ever gets in on this, it will drive a lot of these same American companies out of business. Thoughts?

Post Thanks / Like

cant really find a disadvantage on the warming chamber especsiacally if your making jig heads for crappie
    Just Yakin along

Post Thanks / Like

Don't know about the new molds. The place to buy old molds is e-bay. Do-it is slow to respond to the wishes of customers. If someone was to start making new jig molds they would have all the business they could handle!

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Barlows is a good outlet for the molds. I pour the sides a couple of times each to preheat as some of my molds don't have the chamber. Some small mods might be required to use some hooks in certain molds. The mods are best done by someone with some machining skills. You can booger up a $40 mold in a heartbeat.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Post Thanks / Like

Bronson

I've posted the same comment about Do it Molds. With the chamber on the bottom you have to watch the size of hooks you try to use. Example before the chamber You could use a size 1 hook in a slot marked for a size 6. Ain't gonna happen no more unless you mod the mold and have the chamber area flattened.