Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Solo Canoe

Post Thanks / Like

Default Solo Canoe

For the last couple of months I researched different kayaks and solo canoes that are available, particularly the models that are popular for fishing. I'm new to fishing, and wanted a vessel that would help meet a few requirements: lightweight, able to fit in the 6'-6" bed of my Silverado, relatively stable and straight-tracking, and also cost efficient (I am a college student). I live in Eastern Kentucky where there are several small lakes available, as well as plenty of small rivers/creeks to fish from.

After weighing the options, I decided that the best model for me was probably the Old Town Pack canoe. I ended up getting the angler model as it has a lower, backed seat already included. This canoe is 12 feet and weighs around 33 lbs. according to Old Town, and I can certainly vouch for it being versatile. I've had it out only twice so far, but have been impressed with how the canoe handles on a lake, and also enjoy the open room I have for bringing my cooler, tackle, and perhaps a dog (perhaps! ). The canoe gives me plenty of room to shift around and sit in different positions, and I can also stretch and reach out to grab something if needed. All in all, I figure I have a canoe that will see a lot of use over the years, and provide me with a lot of fun opportunities on the water.

Best part about it? I can stay out on the lake for the better part of the day for the price of fuel to and from the lake, which is a 15-30 minute drive for me depending on which lake I visit Thumbs Up

I've seen a ton of information about kayak fishing, and just thought I'd tell a little about my Pack canoe as I think it's yet another option that prospective buyers can look at.

Post Thanks / Like