Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Interstate Batteries, in my opinion....

Post Thanks / Like

Default Interstate Batteries, in my opinion....

I purchased an Interstate size 27 cranking battery for my boat last August or September, I did lose the receipt, but the date code of manufacture is for July which is in line with the time line I recall. It was used only several times before winter. I put it on charge in the garage. I have 3 Schumacher SSC-1500A Ship 'N' Shore Speed Charge Chargers, and I used one of these to charge the battery. It showed that the battery was bad. I procrastinated doing anything about it till this month as I was not going to be using it anyway.

I am an industrial electrician, and I was trained and worked as a technician in the Navy for 20 years, where I worked with lead acid batteries as well. I had no intention of trying to dig up a reason for this battery being bad as it had had virtually no use, I just wanted it replaced. No new battery should be having these issues, IME.

I attempted to return it to the place I purchased it. While it read low, it did not read bad on their checker, and as Interstate had allegedly stuck them with a battery they had taken in several weeks earlier which the Interstate distributor claimed was not bad, they were not willing to take it back without further checking it.