Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wheel bearings

Speck is online now MO/MS Moderator and Fishing Legend * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Wheel bearings

I've been using Bearing buddies on my boat trailer for a couple of years. I thought they were the best thing since sliced bread. (What was the best thing before sliced bread? Oh well thats another discussion.) Back on topic. The left side started throwing grease all over the wheel recently. I figure the seal went out. Pulled the hub, replaced/repacked bearings and seal. the inner bearing still had grease but not alot. Decided to check the right side while I was at it. Same thing. Even though that seal wasn't leaking, the inner bearing didn't have much grease left either. The outer bearings were full of grease. Lesson learned. Just because you have Bearing Buddies on your trailer, it is no substitute for repacking them once a year. I don't think they get much grease to the inner bearings. Sorry if this belongs on the Off Topic board but I thought it was kind of important.

Crazy Angler Pro Staff
    Crappie Logic Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like

very good point

i put a lot of miles on my trailer and watch my hubs for grease and also touch my hubs to see if there getting hot, that tells me if one inner or outer hub is different in warmth, also i re pack mine every year

Post Thanks / Like

ty for the heads up. I'm a new boat/trailer owner and had no idea..
    "Our greatest happiness does not depend on the condition of life in which chance has placed us, but is always the result of a good conscience, good health, occupation, and freedom in all just pursuits." - Thomas Jefferson

Post Thanks / Like

have you tried using the hubs that pump the grease to the back and then through the bearings out the front? I have them on two boats, and they seem like they'd do a better job than the old bearing buddies. Time will tell.
    Jim - Have boat - will travel.