Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Downsizing for Winter: Open for Debate

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Alphahawk View Post
    I fish smaller year round...a 1/64 ounce Trout Magnet. I catch plenty of fish.....crappie......white bass....Smallies.....Gills......spotted bass......trout....but rarely large mouth with it.....but then again I don't target large mouth....but for whatever the reason they don't care for the small bait. Crappie however, love it. My presentation is always extremely slow. I was never taught to do this it is just the way I have been fishing for the past 8 years or so...it has served me well. It is my experience that in winter fish love the smaller presentation. I don't have any empirical evidence of this...just my observation. Before going to strictly UL fishing and micro jigs I would catch crappie with larger baits...but less of them than I do since going with micro jigs.

Regards
    Maybe you just aren't fishing around the largemouths much? I always get a decent amount of largemouths when fishing 1-2" panfish baits. Always fun when fishing 2lb line!
    Likes Crestliner08, sooners08 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I just try to have small and large baits at all times. Sometimes they just want something small. I don't try to over think it.
    Likes Minners N Jigs LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I downsize in jig weight but not necessarily in size because the colder the water temp the slower the retrieve needs to be in my opinion. I can retrieve a 1/16 oz jig slower than a 1/8 oz jig and still keep it in the depth that I want fish it in. I feel that slower retrieve means more strikes in colder water. My two cents worth.
    Likes INTIMIDATOR, Minners N Jigs LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like