Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: what is the absolute best cover to drop

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by KAG View Post
    Anyone have any info on using hedge limbs (Osage) in stake buckets? I know it tough as heck and lots of it around....just seems like it would last a very long time. Lots of that and honey locus around here....
    I read IN-Fisherman critical concepts 2 Crappie Locations. The book is not worth the $ but something to read in the winter. I was amazed when Osage Orange was suggested to make fish locators mainly because how long they last. Being an old farm boy I cut many a hedge posts and even used the extra logs in the fireplace a little at time for a hot burn. I never considered them as a fish attractor but then again I am new to crappie fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

As far as THE longest lasting natural cover locally, if anything lasts longer, I honestly DO NOT know what it is...even in VERY fertile water like a swamp, it will out last EVERYTHING else...it averages 20+ YEARS...it is tough to cut and put together, but it is THE `gold standard` of natural materials.
    Likes peepaw LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Knot2Bad View Post
    Didn't give a thesis just ask a question. Short answer - A structure that is a min. of 4-5X taller than its base with lots of cover for bait fish. The taller the better. Base needs to be big enough to anchor and support the structures ensuring it remains upright. I would not use non biodegradable materials. This means you will need to reestablish these over time as they will loose there effectiveness. Cheers
    Natural brush materials add to the nutrient load in the water as they decompose and remove oxygen. Plastics like rock and large hardwoods, add more INERT surface area to grow periphyton/algae...fish food.

Plastics like rock, improve water quality, years of studies prove this.