Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Rods for spider rigging?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Rods for spider rigging?

I have decided to buy 8 rods for spider rigging. I have no experience in doing this, and would like to know everyones opinion on length, brand, and style. I have chosen to use the 4per t-bar driftmaster rod holders. Thanks for the help.

Post Thanks / Like

I have been very happy with the Wally Marshall series from BPS. 8 to 12 foot rods. The little round (open face) WM reels however really suck. I like the little spinning reals the best.

Post Thanks / Like

BnM poles are great! Try out the BGJP, ive been using them for years. Excellent action for trolling.
    Aquatic Species Removal Engineer

Post Thanks / Like

I have tried all types of rods and have found BnM poles to be the best. Like Drill Instructor said the BGJP rods are good. The Pro Staff Trolling rods are excellent because you can use heavier weight and the rod won't bow as much. I have not tried the Capps and Coleman rods yet but I'm sure they are well worth the money. If your looking to get in cheap, go for the Slo-trollers. They are fiberglass and a bit heavy but will work fine in a rod holder. That is where they are gonna be when spider rigging. That is a fast way to get a set up if your on a budget. If money is not an option then go with the higher end poles. better sensitivity. The slo-trollers also telescope. Making them easier to store if room on the boat is an issue. BnM poles are also easier to get replacement tip sections for than the Wally Marshalls if you happen to break one. This will happen at some point. If they are made of graphite, any abuse of the rod will create a weak spot. You have to be carefull with them. Take good care of them and they will last for years. CF
    The Original Woodsgoat Hater
    2011 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion

Post Thanks / Like