SLABSAUCE Crappie Attractant |
Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Electric Anchors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Electric Anchors

    I have some electric anchors on my boat. When I roll them all the way up
    there is loose place between anchor and cover causing them to be noisey when going over a wave. Does anyone have any solutions. Thank you for your input.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lakewood Club, Michigan.
    Posts
    1,392
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I use two on my boat.
    Can you be a little more specific?
    Maybe a drawing of what you mean.
    When mine are all the way up. There is a ton of pressure on the rope holding the anchor very tight so theres nothing loose.
    What kind of a unit is it?
    Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    570
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Could you not cut a small section of garden hose say 4" & place it on the end of the rope??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Anchor

    Its a 35lb Minn Kota. When I let the anchor all the way up the anchor still
    has some leeway to flop up and down. Just put these on last week.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Diana, TX
    Posts
    1,070
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    What type of anchor do you have? I have the same model with a 8lb mushroom anchor and it's tight when up so much so I usually have to push it down when I first deploy it.


    PB Wht. Crappie 2.48 lbs 02-12-2011

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Caledonia,Mississippi
    Posts
    8,762
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    leave bout 4' of rope out and sit em in the bottom of the boat. Just kidding. Check the amount of rope you have on em make sure you aint got toooo much not letting the anchor seat in the bracket.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lake Semionole, Fl
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Is it possible that your anchor is too heavy for your unit to lift it all the way up into the stored position?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Big town of Paducah Texas
    Posts
    1,417
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Use the elastic straps and strap it when you are ready to go across the lake. That will keep it snug
    Soldiers and Firefighters. Some people were meant to call 911, Some were meant to BE 911

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    North-East Mississippi
    Posts
    3,762
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    [QUOTE=Minnerman]leave bout 4' of rope out and sit em in the bottom of the boat.
    QUOTE]

    No joke, thats what I used to do when I had a MK electric anchor, about
    three boats ago... All it took was forgetting to latch it in one choppy
    ride down the lake, and it would bust a plastic gear in the winch.
    After replacing it a couple of times, I just started pulling it in.
    Another benefit of that was that way, it wasn't continually dripping water
    and blowing back on me - not too bad in the summer, but when it was
    cold, no fun. This was one of the ones where the anchor came with it,
    had to put lead shot in it yourself.
    Shoals Area Crappie Association

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

BACK TO TOP