SLABSAUCE Crappie Attractant |
Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52

Thread: boat trailer inspection tag checks

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    the cold hard truth..

    As well, few trailers meet the Five Freedoms endorsed by animal welfare interests: providing an environment conducive to normal behavior, rest, drinking and eating, and which minimizes the risk of injury, mental or physical distress, or disease. Currently, there are no standards in North America for manufacturing horse trailers. To the best of my knowledge, standards are also non-existent in New Zealand, Australia, and Europe.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    What do you have to say about this loss of life?
    Sent: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:32 AM
    Subject: Letter-House of Rep.


    Allow me to begin by introducing my wife and myself; my name is Stephen Richardson and my wife is Robin Richardson. The night of May 20, 2004 we received a call informing us that our son, Stephen Richardson, Jr. had been in an accident along with five of his friends. They were returning home from the Class 4A state baseball championship game, which was held in Lafayette. Upon receiving the call from one of the kids’ father my wife and I left for the Lady of The Lake Hospital. I will say that we did not automatically think the worst. The children began arriving via ambulance and air-med. Our son was not among them. After hours of asking questions it became painfully obvious, our son would not be coming back to us. Why? All because a towed vehicle broke free, crossed the median, and struck the truck our son was a passenger in.


    The accident happened at mile marker 138.6 of the east bound lane of Interstate 10 in Iberville Parish. The coupling on the tow bar on the towed vehicle came off of the ball. The “safety” chains broke allowing this terrible chain of events to take place. The towed vehicle actually struck the towing vehicle, and then crossed the median. As this took place around 10PM and the vehicle had no lights, our children had indication that a vehicle was heading toward them. They had no chance. The truck our son was riding in broadsided the run-away vehicle. Even though all of the occupants in our son’s vehicle had their seatbelts on; all required medical attention, hospital stays and/or extensive surgery, except for the driver and our son, Stephen. Thank God all are doing well today. We recollect the memory of that night when any of us pass a vehicle on the road with a vehicle haphazardly in tow. What has moved us into action was a news piece on the Graco side drop baby cribs being, not only recalled but taken off the market but banned as well. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission issued this remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled cribs and contact LaJobi to receive a free hardware retrofit kit that will immobilize the drop side. CPSC urges parents and caregivers to find an alternative, safe sleeping environment for their baby.To prevent further child deaths and injuries, Senator Gillibrand is introducing federal legislation that would make it illegal to manufacture, sell or re-sell any and all drop-side cribs. Gillibrand's legislation would also ban drop-side cribs from public facilities including day care centers and hotels and toughen enforcement, giving CPSC the authority to levy civil or criminal penalties on suppliers or venders that knowingly sell or re-sell banned drop-side cribs. This action was taken because of an average of 3.2 deaths per year since 2000 nationwide, and rightly so. But, if the number of deaths is what moves one into action ponder this. Since 1975 an average of 8.6 deaths per year occurred due to faulty towing apparatus just in the state of Louisiana. We cannot help but wonder if this type of action had been taken earlier to recall faulty apparatus, educate through public service announcements, and/or a ban on these products with a recommendation to find an alternative safe way to tow, that the average of deaths per year would have dropped dramatically. We are not disillusioned that somehow our son’s life could have been spared. We are asking you, as law makers, to not be disillusioned either. We cannot look back, except to learn from the past. Our hope lies only in what we have learned and how we use it to make a difference for the future. You can make a difference. We have 5 other children who travel our state highways. We thought what happened to Stephen was one of those “one in a million chances”. What we have come to understand is that, the odds of this happening to anyone, is greater than we thought. We want to join you, in anyway that we can, in making a difference. We will do our P.A.R.T. (Parents Against Reckless Towing). Our son is honored every year with a baseball tournament in his memory; the Stephen Richardson Memorial Tournament sponsored by East Ascension High School. Many have died, all over the country, due to dangerous towing. Please know that what ever you can do through legislation that can bring awareness, knowledge and accountability when it comes to towing safely will bring honor to all who have died. Sincerely, Stephen & Robin Richardson

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    This happened in your state a few months ago...I will post the police report....this can happen to each and every one of you.

    Driver identified in deadly loose trailer crash



    Posted: Dec 7, 2012 10:13 PM by Trey Schmaltz
    Updated: Dec 7, 2012 10:13 PM
    More Sharing ServicesShare


    Rating: 1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    5.0 (1 vote)







    Topics: baton rouge, traffic, interstate, wreck, fatal, dead, open, closed

    BATON ROUGE- State Police released the name of the driver, killed in a crash on I-10 Friday.
    David Hammer, 64, died when a loose trailer careened across the Interstate and into his lane. Hammer slammed head-on into the trailer.
    The crash happened just West of the East Baton Rouge- Ascension Parish line and closed both sides of I-10. Westbound lanes re-opened sooner than eastbound lanes.
    Investigators said the truck pulling the trailer was headed west when the trailer got loose. The loose trailer rolled between a gap in cable barriers and into eastbound lanes.
    State Police are trying to determine how the trailer came off its hitch.
    Hammer was from League City, Texas.



    Trop A...just released....with our information...
    we ask...

    What happened to FEDERAL RULES....DOUBLE AXLE TRAILER HOMEMADE....IT DID NOT HAVE SAFETY CHAINS...IT DID NOT HAVE A WORKING BREAKAWAY CABLE...AND HOW THIS IS A WAKE UP CALL

    IF YOU TOW A TRAILER...AND KILL SOMEBODY YOU WILL BE CHARGED WITH NEGLIGENT HOMICIDE.

    7 YEARS MAX.....!!! ALL FROM A DEFECTIVE AND UNSAFE TRAILER.....he knew it was unsafe....and the State of Louisiana knew that trailer is over 3,000 GVWR and was in violation of FEDERAL LAW...YET THEY NEVER PULLED IT OVER.

    Is the State Inspection Program in Louisiana also culpapble in this death? Or they going to try and cover it up?

    THE STATE OF LOUISIANA IS NOT ENFORCING AND CHOOSING NOT TO ENFORCE FEDERAL LAW WITH ALL TRAILERS OVER 3,000 GVWR....THEY NEED

    COMPUSPECTION CALL MR. BELDER!!!


    We will get a full report from Troop A.....If you are charged with this crime in Louisiana then why not NATIONWIDE?

    IS YOUR LIFE WORTH MORE THAN A 200 DOLLAR NEW SAFETY DEVICE?

    BETTER PRODUCTS ARE OUT IN THE MARKET....the NATM has chosen to fight new innovation.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    10,188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thanks Ron......well done......point made......
    The "King" is coming
    This could be the Day....
    RETIRED LOUISIANA CRAPPIE HUNTER

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Carencro, Louisiana
    Posts
    8,129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Ditto
    Randy Andres

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chackbay, Thibodaux, Louisiana
    Posts
    300
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    My question is this. You can get a brake tag at 10:00AM,drive down the road hit a bump in road, owned by the state and the lights on the trailer go out. You are stopped by the law for no running lights. Easy as that. What about the cane farmers with trailers behind a tractor the road with no lights or brake tags. They are excempt from this. Right I get mine checked every time I go on the road but holes on the road and bumps have a lot to do with this. My two cent.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Denham Springs LA
    Posts
    5,535
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hey Scoot,

    It's not about safety, it's about taxing the folks. IMO

    Quote Originally Posted by Scoot View Post
    My question is this. You can get a brake tag at 10:00AM,drive down the road hit a bump in road, owned by the state and the lights on the trailer go out. You are stopped by the law for no running lights. Easy as that. What about the cane farmers with trailers behind a tractor the road with no lights or brake tags. They are excempt from this. Right I get mine checked every time I go on the road but holes on the road and bumps have a lot to do with this. My two cent.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    10,188
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jig rig View Post
    Hey Scoot,

    It's not about safety, it's about taxing the folks. IMO
    I have to respectively disagree with you......I believe it is all about safety...saving lives and preventing unnecessary injuries.....the same as all the other laws we have on boating safety such as requirements for wearing life jackets, using your kill switch, drinking while driving, not over powering your boat (more HP than the manufacturer recommends) and I believe if you do overpower the boat your insurance is not valid....required boating safety classes.....speeding in no wake zones....using your boats lights before daybreak....fire extinguisher on board.....and I could go on.....these are all laws in which you could get a citation just as speeding in your car....I can just imagine what we would have on the roads and waterways if there were no laws on safety.....

    Scoot, I just don't believe that any officer would ticket you for the circumstances you describe......he may stop you but I don't believe he would write you up.....maybe a warning....now, pot holes and cane trucks are my pet peeve also especially before daylight.....also the mud they track on the road which is also illegal.....

    just had my trailer totally rewired yesterday.....had a short and this was the easy fix.....6 years old...$100......it's just the price we pay to play......
    The "King" is coming
    This could be the Day....
    RETIRED LOUISIANA CRAPPIE HUNTER

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Denham Springs LA
    Posts
    5,535
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hey PS,

    After reading your post I still stand by my statement.

    How does a inspection sticker save lives and prevent unnecessary injuries? The numbers do not prove it (safety stickers on trailers)out. Florida has no safety sticker program but has a better record than states that do.

    Enforcement of the law is what will make things safer IMO.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Carencro, Louisiana
    Posts
    8,129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    How does a inspection sticker save lives and prevent unnecessary injuries?
    It's because folks like me become more self conscious about what we are doing and what we have. I have no problem with that. I could give a d.... what the Florida folks do, or who does the enforcement of it around here, or what the numbers are. I agree with it and glad I learned about it here. What make things safer is self consciousness - not enforcement of the law. My 2 cents.
    Randy Andres

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

BACK TO TOP