SLABSAUCE Fish Attractant |
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Soliciting opinions / advice / recommendations

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    highland, illinois
    Posts
    1,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Soliciting opinions / advice / recommendations

    I'm going to be selling my boat. A Kayak is something on my radar.

    - Talk me into / out of it.
    - I have 0 experience with one.
    - Pedal vs paddle. Sit on vs in. Etc
    Happily married. Two kids. Two dog's.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    What kind of fishing do you do? (do you have to stand up to fish?) moving water? Big bodies of water or smaller lakes? How far are you favorite fishing holes from the boat launch? (2-3 miles from the launch is easily accessible by paddling) with a kayak you do not need a launch, just need to be within walking distance.
    The best piece of advice I can give you is find a store that will allow you to put the kayak in the water and test it out. Find a company that does demo days or will schedule a private session. Next I would read some reviews on what people had to say about their kayaks. The number and style of kayaks has exploded over the past 5-7 years and it is now about finding what kayak suits you best...its hard to say there is a perfect kayak that is super light, super stable and paddles like a breeze.
    If you would like to be able to stand then something a bit heavier and wider would be your likely option. If you think you have good balance then you can lean towards something that is lighter, paddles easier and still be able to get away with standing up.
    How much storage space do you want vs how much you NEED is another question to think about.
    Lastly is the $$$ factor, I sold my boat knowing I was investing I in a kayak (they don't just go bad, I have a a wilderness systems ride 135 that is 6 years old but it is still in great shape and I prefer to take it fishing in the shallow marshes own here in Louisiana) They can get expensive when you start talking about the peddle drive kayaks but it is all about what you want and how you fish.

    If you find a place that will demo a kayak for you, ask how much that demo model is....I got my wilderness ride as a demo model for $750 6 years ago and it only had small scratches on the bottom from them loading and unloading off the trailer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    highland, illinois
    Posts
    1,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Currently bass fishing, like to stand up. Fishing lakes from 200-1500 acres.
    As for how much gear, I know I keep WAY too much on the boat ! I've told myself many times, need to clean it out, and keep it cleaned out.
    Do you have any regrets about selling your boat, and going to a Kayak?
    Happily married. Two kids. Two dog's.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    There are few times that I miss my boat but it is only because of the water I can cover throughout the day.
    My new kayak is a Jackson Kracken and it has been nothing short of amazing.
    it does come with a price tag but it weighs less than 80lbs, it is 13.5 feet long so it glides nicely when paddles and it tracks very well (not the best for tight places) and i feel confident standing. It is pretty stable for a open water kayak and also has a scupper hole designed for a transducer.....I mounted recently.

    IN the springtime the kayak is perfect to go find bedding fish in shallow water, they are stealthier than a boat and if you can stand then getting dang near on top of the fish is possible.
    windy days will most likely be your biggest adjustment when fishing but patience and time on the water you will get the hang of it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    highland, illinois
    Posts
    1,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thank you so much !
    An adjustment for me would also be cold weather. As long as the lake isn't frozen over, I go. Not sure how that would work, might have to find a different hobby for the winter.
    Happily married. Two kids. Two dog's.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Surely anything I can do to help.
    It doesn’t get cold enough down here to freeze the lakes so I can’t help you there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Linton, IN
    Posts
    785
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I love mine. I dont however generally fish larger bodies of water. My number one complaint and the one I hear most often is the seat sucks. Bad enough that now as I'm looking at what I want to upgrade too, if the seat sucks I move to the next one. As sugarfoot said, couple miles really isn't that bad.
    I have a sit in, I will buy a sit on next. Sit in seems to be a bit cramped, imo. But does offer a lil shade for minners, cooler, drink whatever. Anything else let me know, I'd be glad to give an opinion as well

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    highland, illinois
    Posts
    1,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thank you both!
    Happily married. Two kids. Two dog's.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    tn
    Posts
    1,104
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Try as many different kayaks as possible, demo, demo, demo. Also plan on investing in a pfd that you will wear at all times. A good paddle makes a difference too. I like elevated seats, like the Jackson have (a big plus is they are made domestically).
    Likes Sugarfoot_Salzer LIKED above post

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Santa Anna, Texas
    Posts
    23
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I agree demo,as many as you can. I've had a wilderness ride 135 and a 115 x max. The air pro max seat in the wilderness is very comfortable and easy to stay for a while. Sadly the ride doesn't come with that seat anymore but the radar does. You can get in one of those for less than 1500.That also gives you the option of pedal or electric motor. I personally have a hobie pa 12. I fish some larger bodies of water and am just more comfortable in the hobie. I currently carry 4 rods in the rod tubes provided, and up to 6 rods on my crate. look at the different setups guys have and use your imagination when setting yours up. I run a 7" lowrance hook2 off of a 9 amp deer feeder battery and get 3 trips out of a charge. I plan to get a pa 14 after the first of the year to fish tournaments. I have friends who paddle right along with me as I pedal, so the choice is yours. What is your comfort level, what are you fishing for, and how much do you want to spend. The one thing I will preach is don't skimp on your pfd. Make sure it will support you with wet clothes on. You can always upgrade you yak and equipment down the road, your pfd is your life.
    Likes Sugarfoot_Salzer LIKED above post
    Thanks skunked again thanked you for this post

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

BACK TO TOP