CROSMAN® FULL AUTO AK1 Opinions about Cole and Jay. | Muck Boots: Free Shipping on orders over $50! Opinions about Cole and Jay. | Shop gifts for any angler at Rapala.com! Opinions about Cole and Jay.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Opinions about Cole and Jay.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Opinions about Cole and Jay.


    How many of you central Arkansas crappie chasers watch Cole and Jay on YouTube. Just curious about how people that fish the same waters feel about the YouTube channel.


    Sent from my iPhone using Crappie.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    836
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    YOU ASKED! I don't follow them, I am not into those who seek internet fame, I have seen a couple of their videos, I think they are drawing unwanted attention to a already crowded location unintentionally just so people will shower them with comment. They never say where they are at, however they shoot video with background images and familiar scenery. It Does not take a rocket scientist to figure out where they are at. Cole and Jay needs to make some other body of water famous and leave LC out of the lime light. Now you have my 2 cents.
    Welcome to the home of the, boat eating, trolling motor busting, prop bending, lower unit smashing, stump filled mud hole called Lake Conway.
    Bullet 21xrd Merc 250 Pro xs. "If you think I won"t, Believe me I will"
    Likes Cpt Ahab, Cmj LIKED above post

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Monticello, AR
    Posts
    72
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I follow them and watch some of their videos. I live in southeast Arkansas, but never fish LC (never have) or any other bodies that they show in their videos other than maybe the Arkansas River. I don't watch their videos trying to find fishing spots, just enjoy seeing how they catch them sometimes.
    Likes hdhntr LIKED above post

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Guess it’s not fair to ask without throwing my opinion in the mix. A little background on me is that my passion for the last 15 years has been duck hunting public land. With that said I’m over it. I watched social media ruin the sport. Most of it was unintentional I believe but nonetheless the outcome was the same. My new passion is crappie fishing. I love putting my boat in the water fishing a little bit and then running into another person doing the same thing having small talk for a while and then moving on down until I run into the next person. I don’t believe cole and jay have bad intentions but wish they would be a little bit more careful with their filming.


    Sent from my iPhone using Crappie.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Rutland, OH
    Posts
    21,179
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Only fisherman on YT I follow or watch is Richard Gene. He is a genuine awesome feller.
    “If your too busy to fish, you’re too busy!” Buddy Ebsen
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER
    (Billbob and “G” approved!)
    Proud member of Tekeum’s Jigs Pro Staff

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Conway Arkansas
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cpt Ahab View Post
    How many of you central Arkansas crappie chasers watch Cole and Jay on YouTube. Just curious about how people that fish the same waters feel about the YouTube channel.


    Sent from my iPhone using Crappie.com
    I mainly fish LC and also some of the other areas they fish. Every time they post a video on LC it gets flooded with people. It does get old. I was fishing it years before I found their YT channel. I have a buddy who went to the “swamp” area the other day right after they posted and he said there was probably 20 boats in there. Same as the cove. It’s already crowded enough this time of year so to be honest I wish they didn’t show exactly where they fish
    Likes hdhntr LIKED above post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Conway Arkansas
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BuckeyeCrappie View Post
    Only fisherman on YT I follow or watch is Richard Gene. He is a genuine awesome feller.
    He’s the best I’ve found so far

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    5,510
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have been following them since their inception...of course I follow a number of channels but only watch very few videos of each channel. Up until September was resident of TN but am now a resident of Arkansas. I think a lot of folks miss the mark when discussing YouTube fisherman...it's a job for the successful ones. I have a YouTube channel that is no more than a spec of dust in the YouTube world. I created it to educate folks about JDM UL fishing gear. When I started it it was one of the very few places..if not the only place....one could find info in the english language about the JDM UL world. The past few years that has changed. As a matter of fact crappie.com has become probably the leading resource for info on this gear. I never had ambitions of making a million dollars off my YouTube channel. I never even thought I would make the first dime...money was not why I created the channel. I will make enough money in a year to maybe purchase one decent camera. Then you have the Cole and Jays of the world. They do this for a living. I remember well the day they announced they were quitting their jobs and going full time YouTube...I thought they had lost their mind. Well...they have become successful. I have watched several who quit their jobs and went full time YouTube. Even though I know some of them, and consider them friends, I thought all of them lost their minds. Many of these folks make a huge amount of money. I don't want to have to get up everyday and make videos, then hope I get enough views to pay the bills and eat. Believe me it is hard work to put out weekly content of good quality. If I was younger, knowing what I know now, I might have had ambitions of making YouTube my livelihood. Of course I am 71 years old and believe me it is work and time consuming to have a successful YouTube channel. As to bringing notoriety to a fishing spot. When I started I knew that if folks watched my videos I would be giving away my fishing spots. Much to my surprise I never headed out to my spots and found the first person there fishing. I always told myself if I did I would just go to another spot…I would adapt. Maybe I was just lucky. Maybe not enough people watched my videos. It is impossible to do a fishing video and not show where you are fishing. Believe me you hear the same things y'all are commenting about Cole and Jay said about Richard Gene, Creek Fishing Adventures...Kayak Catfish, and a multitude of other YouTube fisherman. I fished in all of those folks neck of the woods and you here the comments. I personally received a few emails over the 5 years I have had a channel that were basically veiled threats that I needed to fish elsewhere....really. Bottom line social media is here to stay, like it or not it don't matter...people have a right to make a living how they see fit. YouTube....Facebook....you may not like it but I don't know of a successful fishing related company that does not have a presence on those two medias. To succeed in the YouTube world you need clicks...likes...and comments. They ain’t doing it for fame or ego..they're doing it for money. While no one except them knows the exact income they make it is between 50-65 grand a year just off of views…and it’s just going to grow. Plus, as is common with many YouTube fisherman their viewers send them stuff....lots of stuff....a lot of it valuable and or useful. My point is, if someone can make a living off of something they love doing, why not? That is my opinion..and it don't mean much...like all other opinions.




    Regards
    Last edited by Alphahawk; 12-05-2022 at 09:49 PM.
    Likes SuperDave336, hdhntr, slabbandit LIKED above post

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Conway, AR
    Posts
    422
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I've watched a few videos but haven't in a long time now. Got tired of hearing "It's a biggen, oh my gosh It's a biggen!" They pull it in and it might be an 8" crappie. What do they fish, like 3 lakes? Lake Conway, Beaverfork, Dardanelle behind the nuclear plant and behind the dam at Nimrod. I hope they do well with their YouTube channel. Can't blame them for trying.
    Triton Tr-196
    200hp Mercury
    Garmin
    Huckabee Rods
    Likes Jeickles, hdhntr LIKED above post

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,097
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default



    A successful Youtube channel takes alot of work and a good personality. Cole and Jay see to have both since they have 235k subscribers and counting. I don't really watch their channel since it is more about catching fish instead of methods to catch fish. Since I am in Texas I had no idea what bodies of water they fish. I do know most of the Youtubers in Texas keep their locations secret so that they are not overrun by other anglers. I do appreciate that they don't use Jay's T&A to draw folks in. There is way too much of that on Youtube and it is refreshing not to see it on their channel.
    Likes hdhntr LIKED above post

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

BACK TO TOP