Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dubbing

Post Thanks / Like

Default dubbing

I have been tying crappie jigs for a while now and have never used dubbing. Can I use the Danville 210 flat waxed for dubbing or do I need something else?Any info you can give is more than I know about it at the present.

Post Thanks / Like

I don't think you need dubbing for crappie jigs. Dubbing is mostly used to make bodies for small flies.

There's more info in the jig tying forum on this. Just search that forum for "dubbing".

Post Thanks / Like

Well, I'm mostly self taught on the tying stuff, but here is what I do for dubbing on flies. I use pretty much any thread, but have a slice of solid wax that I slide on the thread to coat it before I twist on the dubbing. It helps the dub to stick to the thread, but have no clue if this is right... a small junk tying kit I bought had the wax, and this is what I've always used it for. :D Correct me if I'm wrong anyone...

For the bodies of small flies, lately I have been using peacock herl wrapped on. Has a very cool look and has been working good so far this season. Have learned you have to make sure it is locked in every couple of wraps or has a tendency to unravel once wet.

Post Thanks / Like

Small flies is what I want to use it on,sorry, didnt make myself clear on that. I'll check out dubbing in the search feature,
    Attica, how do you "lock it " down every couple of wraps ?

Post Thanks / Like

I just wrap the peacock 2 or 3 times then wrap my thread over it twice to hold it to the body, wrap the peacock, wrap the thread over it... and keep going till the body is done. You can get way with this with the peacock because the fibers are sparse and you never see the thread. If you do this with chenille, there is a lump every other wrap and doesnt look good.

I posted this a little while back, has a peacock body... got me over 30 keeper gills and 20 keeper crappies so far this year.