Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: crappie fishing the last few days

Post Thanks / Like

Default crappie fishing the last few days

I'm new to this "crappie" thing, but really enjoying it. Got out to Big Creek about 6 a.m. yesterday, till about 11. All I had was 4 minnows, but if I ran out of them, figured I could go to jigs. Well, had to go to jigs. Left with 9 decent crappies. This morning, I left home about 5 (a.m.). since I'm only about 4-5 miles from Big Creek, I was on the water before 5:30 (guessing). I left about 11 again, this time with 14 crappies. Yum!!!!
    Jim

Post Thanks / Like

Gunner, welcome to the wonderful sport of crappie fishing. It can be tough at time, but very rewarding.
    Are you catching fish that early in the morning? I use to get out there early, but it never seemed to pay off. Getting on the water around 7:00 a.m. is early enough for me.
    Thanks,
    Slab_Seeker

Post Thanks / Like

I've been getting out early. I wake up around 3a.m. anyway, so it's easy for me to be out on the water at sunrise. I like to beat all the other boats out there. Don't like crowds, so will probably not be out there this weekend. I've had the most bites really early before other boats start showing up. I haven't been fishing much in the evening. Again, it's probably the "crowd" thing. I am considering getting up early tomorrow morning, and getting a couple hours of fishing in before church :-)
    Jim

Post Thanks / Like

Had just enough time this morning to hit the lake, catch 10 decent male crappies, get home to clean them, and make church at 9:30. It was a great morning! Hmm, wonder if anyone smelled fish during the service? (actually, i did shower)
    Jim

Post Thanks / Like

Gunner you are having too much fun B4 church. If the reverend is any kind of a man at all he will pray for you.

Post Thanks / Like