Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jigging Techniques

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jigging Techniques

Hey guys!

As you all know I'm new to the sport of Crappie fishing and am looking for some quick fixes. I need some jigging techniques! I have some newly purchased jigs, with my newly purchased rod and reel and would like to hit some Crappie. I've netted 3 so far, one on a worm, two on a rapala swimming lure w/ two treble (spelling?) hooks.

I couldn't get anything to hit on the jigs I had..

Do you fish them cast and reel? Or let them sit?

Ah! So many questions!
    "Drive it like you stole it"

Post Thanks / Like

The way most jigs are fished, especially fishing from the bank, are by suspending the jig under a bobber at the depth you want to fish it at. that way you can move it really slowly and keep it in the strike zone. CHAUNC and others here, SHIPAHOY41 included, are masters at this and I have learned a TON of info from these guys. It is pretty simple to do, set the bobber on the line at 2-3 feet above the jig and cast it out. move it slowly back toward the cover you are fishing and wait for the float to twitch or disappear completely. Not sure if this helps, but that is what I do and it works pretty good. Good luck and good catching to you.
    Dave Courington
    Nitro 640LX

Post Thanks / Like

Anything helps.

Colors used?
    Just a jig...piece of worm on it?
    Artificial anything?

Or just the weighted head and skirt?
    "Drive it like you stole it"

Post Thanks / Like