Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: wow, My first crappies

Post Thanks / Like

Default wow, My first crappies

hey guys, Honestly I tried all last year and caught none.. today I set out to find the honey hole and we sort of found it..at o'shaunnessy in columbus,oh...found a cove with tons of brush and submerged trees..we were bank fishing , and I would say me and my buddy were there for about 4 hours and caught 12decent ones, no slabs but pretty decent...I had a ton of snags and lost a ton of tackle but was worth it...now when I got home, I attempted to fillet them which did not work out well, I am used to catfish and it ended up being little shreds of fish haha, But it was my first time eating crappie and OMG were they delicious and all we did was roll them in flour and fry...better than catfish to me...do you guys have any suggestions on cleaning smaller ones?? Id say 6 inches and up?? thanks guys, I know I am a newbie but share the same passion...take care guys

Post Thanks / Like

Just chop the heads and gut on the small ones. No need to try and fillet. Not enough meat, but it can be done. Good to hear you found a few and lost tackle is a necessary evil when fishing for crappie. If you ain't snaggin up you aren't crappie fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Jeepster04 View Post
    Just chop the heads and gut on the small ones. No need to try and fillet. Not enough meat, but it can be done. Good to hear you found a few and lost tackle is a necessary evil when fishing for crappie. If you ain't snaggin up you aren't crappie fishing.
    Yep scale and gut then pan fry!
    Was that a bite? Forgot what they feel like!

Post Thanks / Like

good job , now that you caught some your going to be hooked

Post Thanks / Like