Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Live bait for Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Live bait for Crappie

Hey guys!

Just getting into Crappie fishing and curious what you guys use for live bait and how you catch them. We went bobber fishing at a local lake last night and I caught my first crappie ever just off of a plain jane worm. Just curious what works the best, I hear minnows work great but I need to know how to set it up. Whether it works best with bobbers or how exactly to do it.

Very enjoyable and relaxing fishing, just need some pointers!
    Let me know please as we are going tonight to a lake where I know they've been hitting and what depths they are usually at!

I'm a rookie...what can I say
    "Drive it like you stole it"

Post Thanks / Like

Well jigs and minnows are good for crappie. Minnows can be fished under a bobber on a size 1-6 hook (little bigger than you would use for bluegill). Jigs can be cast and slowly retrieved or used under a bobber with a twitching action. That should get you started any other questions just ask someone on here will have a answer for you. Hope this helps.
    www.Crappiepredator.com
    www.Rendlakefishingguides.com
    618-472-4763

Post Thanks / Like

As much as I hate minnows I do use them in the summer at night, but always have a jig tied on below them for weight and bait. The jig usually catches the bigger fish. I use a Gamakatsu drop shot hook (#2 or #1) for the minnow as I like sharp small wire hooks so they move around better. The hook is tied on about 18" above the jig. The more wind you have the bigger the jig is will help the feel and I use a 1/4 oz. jig most of the time doing this.

Good Luck,

Skip

Peak Vise Dealer
    Tying Materials, Chenille and Hackle
    For Pictures of my Crystal, Nylon/Rayon or
    New Age Chenille Please PM Me! Also I
    have the Saltwater Neck Hackle and some
    colors of Marabou plus other things!

Post Thanks / Like