Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crappie Newbie Question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie Newbie Question

Does anyone have a pic of this particular method of crappie rig. From what I read it sounds like the sinker is on the bottom with a couple of hooks up above and you go along real slow with the sinker dragging the bottom. Thinking of trying this but wanted to get a visual if you know what i mean.Im just getting into crappie fishing with my son(hes 9yrs) and we went out for the first time today. We were trying to troll with no luck.There were some other people out there that had poles out with a cork under the rod tip. The above method I read about sounded like what they were doing maybe?? Any tips appreciated as its hard to keep a 9 yr old entertained sitting in a boat with no fish biting.:D

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like you're talking about a Carolina Rig. Do a few searches for that and see if that's what you're talking about. Welcome to C.C btw. Hope you and your son get on some big ones.
    Fishin' fills the time until College football season

Post Thanks / Like

I googled carolina rig and it showed the sinker above the worm. It sounded to me like the sinker was below the hooks/bait on the fishing line. What is the hook/sinker set up when someone is "spider" rig fishing? Looked like the guys I saw today were fishing this technique.

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds to me like you are talking about drop shot rigging with two hooks. This was a popular method for me when I was bass fishing alot. I would tie on a nice drop shot hook, put on a worm, then tie a sinker at the bottom. I would have about 2-3' between the hook and the sinker depending upon the depth I was fishing. I have never tried this method for crappie fishing, but I have seen it talked about on this forum. Welcome by the way, if you are looking for a great bunch of guys and a wealth of knowledge you have come to the right place!!

Luke