Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Jig and Minnow Question?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jig and Minnow Question?

Sorry for another dumb question, but I'm kinda new at the more serious aspects of crappie fishing, so..........

Just so I understand correctly, if I wanted to use a live minnow on a jig head, I use a light jig head, like 1/16, then hook the minnow from under the jaw and through the top of head? Is that right?

Then I fish this under a bobber? Do I impart any action to it or just let the bobber float it around?

Any other tips for me?

thanks! Joe

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

That will work sometimes. Other times you may have to jig it a little, or slow troll or even speed your trolling up. It depends on what they want at the time and where you are fishing. Different colored jigs and different depths sometimes makes all the difference in the world.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Joe:

The only "dumb" question is the one you DON'T ask.

One of my favorite methods for catching crappie is to tightline a 32nd or 16th ounce Slater's hair jig tipped with a Rosy Red minnow or shiner no more than 1-inch long.

By "tightline" I mean I don't use a float. I use an 11 or 12-foot B&M Sam's Signature Series jig pole with 6-pound Ande Envy (bright green) line. I mark my line at 10 or 20-feet with a permanent marker so I know how deep I am fishing.

I hold the line lightly between my middle and index finger on my pole hand so I can feel the slightest nudge on my jig. The colored line also makes it easy to see a bite but you'll feel a light bite before you see the line twitch or go slack once you get used to fishing this way.