Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Spider Rigging?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spider Rigging?

I have been fishing for crappies for many years in western PA, but until I started reading this board had never heard of Spider Rigging before.

May I ask what it is, and how you guys go about it?

Thank you,
    deep-v
    Last edited by deep-v; 08-04-2005 at 12:07 PM.
    GO STEELER'S!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hi.

I was hoping one of the guys that does this regularly would reply,
    but it seems they are either shy or otherwise occupied -
    basically it involves fanning out long crappie poles in rod holders from the
    front of a boat, and easing around prime spots with the electric troller,
    keeping the lines almost vertical - some use jigs, some minnows or both.
    I think it is pretty common to use multiple hooks per line, and 8,10, or more
    rods, so some states aren't going to play nice with this. I think there are
    about as many variations as there are folks who do this - some put rods out
    the back, too. You can probably find a lot of stuff on here if you do some
    searches on it. Good fishing to you, Jeff
    Shoals Area Crappie Association

Post Thanks / Like

Do not remove a fly from your friend's forehead with a hatchet.

Chinese Proverb

Post Thanks / Like

Spider Rigging is the way we fish our lake, (Lake Nimrod), about 80 to 90 percent of the time. If we are not vertical jigging brushpiles or cane beds we're Spider Rigging or trollin' as these Arkansas boys call it.

It consist of equally fanning or spreading 4 to 6 11-13' poles across the front thus giving the appearance of a giant spider sticking out the front of your boat. The long poles are held in a rack, ( either store bought or homemade), of sturdy rod holders.