Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling Set-up

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling Set-up

Could someone post a picture of a typical trolling set up, I dont see anyone trolling in my area for crappie and not exactly sure how you should go about setting the line up to use for trolling.

Are you suppose to use a weight on the end to keep the line tight and at the dept that you want to troll.

Any suggestions or info on this would be a great help. Have vacation coming up soon and wanting to try some trolling while on the water. Dont have the best setup as far as boats go but would still like to give a good serious try when I am out there.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

This is the setup that I use to long line out the back of the boat. It works for me! I hope this helps... If you're looking to spider rig you can look back at some old posts and get plenty of ideas.
    Blake

Post Thanks / Like

I am FAR from an expert on trolling, but I have had some success with my method, which I learned by watching a local down in MS. I have a five rod rack that fits around my front seat mount (purchased from Grizzly Jig Co for about $50). I put 4-5 rods in there, each with different colors on them to start, and different depths. I do my trolling when I go to MS each March, and stay in the trees while I'm doing it. I set my trolling motor on the lowest setting, and only bump it when I need to keep the boat moving, or turning. I will also keep one pole in my and, and jig it around the trees as I pass. I had two very productive days doing this last week, catching 21 fish the first evening, and my limit of 30 fish the next morning. I don't use any weight on the lines, other than the jig heads, which are 1/16 oz. By moving slowly, it allows me to keep a fairly consistent depth, without having too much line out. If I find that I am getting hung up frequently, I will shallow up my line. I have my best luck down there in about 3-4 FOW fishi